Join Indian Army

6000 Indians Joined Army | ज्वाइन इंडियन आर्मी now!!!

Join Indian Army should be the slogan of all the Indians! The Indian Army is the land-based branch and the largest component of the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India serves as the Supreme Commander of the इंडियन आर्मी, and it is commanded by the Chief of Army Staff (COAS), who is a four-star general.

Two officers have been conferred with the rank of field marshal, a five-star rank, which is a ceremonial position of great honor.The troops are organized into 35 Divisions within 13 Corps. Army headquarters is located in the Indian capital, New Delhi, and it is under the overall command of the Chief of Army Staff (COAS).

Latest Jobs

Founded1 April 1895; 121 years ago
HeadquartersBengaluru, Karnataka, India
MottoService Before Self
Part ofIndian Armed Force
Anniversaries15 January, Army Day
Chief of the Army Staff (COAS)General Bipin Rawat
Vice-Chief of the Army Staff(VCOAS)Lieutenant General Sarath Chand
ColorsGold, red and black

The primary mission to join Indian Army is to ensure national security and nationhood unity, defending the nation from external aggression and internal threats, and maintaining peace and security within its borders.

It conducts humanitarian rescue operations during natural calamities and other disturbances, like Operation Surya Hope, and can also be requisitioned by the government to cope with internal threats. It is a major component of national power alongside the Indian Navy and the Indian Air Force. The army has been involved in four wars with neighboring Pakistan and one with China.

The Indian Army has a regimental system, but is operationally and geographically divided into seven commands, with the basic field formation being a division. It is an all-volunteer force and comprises more than 80% of the country’s active defense personnel.

It is the 2nd largest standing army in the world. The army has embarked on an infantry modernization program known as Futuristic Infantry Soldier As a System (F-INSAS), and is also upgrading and acquiring new assets for its armored, artillery and aviation branches.

Field formations: The basic field formations of the Indian Army:

  • Command: इंडियन आर्मी has 6 operational commands and 1 training command. Each one is headed by a General Officer Commanding-in-Chief (GOC-in-C), known as Army Commander, who is among the senior-most Lieutenant General officers in the army.
  • Corps: A command generally consists of two or more corps. Indian Army has 13 Corps & each one is commanded by a General Officer Commanding (GOC), known as Corps Commander, who holds the rank of Lieutenant General. Each corps is composed of 3–4 Divisions. There are three types of corps in the इंडियन आर्मी : Strike, Holding and Mixed. The Corps HQ is the highest field formation in the army.
  • Division: Each Division is headed by GOC (Division Commander) in the rank of Major General. It usually consists of 3 to 4 Brigades.[100] Currently, the Indian Army has 37 Divisions including 4 RAPIDs (Re-organised Army Plains Infantry Division), 18 Infantry Divisions, 10 Mountain Divisions, 3 Armoured Divisions and 2 Artillery Divisions.
  • Brigade: A Brigade generally consists of around 3,000 combat troops with supporting elements. An Infantry Brigade usually has 3 Infantry Battalions along with various Support Elements. It is commanded by a brigade commander who is a Brigadier, equivalent to a Brigadier General in some armies. In addition to the Brigades in various Army Divisions, the Indian Army also has 5 Independent Armoured Brigades, 15 Independent Artillery Brigades, 7 Independent Infantry Brigades, 1 Independent Parachute Brigade,3 Independent Air Defence Brigades, 2 Independent Air Defence Groups and 4 Independent Engineer Brigades. These Independent Brigades operate directly under the Corps Commander (GOC Corps).
  • Battalion: Composed of four rifle companies. Commanded by a battalion commander who is a Colonel and is the Infantry’s main fighting unit. Every infantry battalion also possesses one Ghatak Platoon.
  • Company: Composed of three platoons.Commanded by a Company Commander who is a Major or Lieutenant-Colonel.
  • Platoon: Composed of three sections.Commanded by a Platoon Commander who is a JCO.
  • Section: Smallest military outfit with a strength of 10 personnel. Commanded by a Section Commander of the rank of Havaldar.

Indian Army forts 

  • Fort William, Kolkata: Garrison of Eastern Army Command
  • Fort St George, Chennai: Garrison of ATNK&K Army Area
  • OD Fort, Allahabad, Ordnance Depot

Main Training campus of Indian Army: Training of new officers is carried out National Defence Academy, Pune, Indian Military Academy at Dehradun and Officers Training Academy at Chennai and Gaya, etc.

There are also specialized training institutions like Army War College, at Mhow, Madhya Pradesh, High Altitude Warfare School (HAWS), at Gulmarg, Jammu and Kashmir, Counter Insurgency and Jungle Warfare School (CIJW), in Vairengte, Mizoram, College of Military Engineering (CME), in Pune.

Joining Indian Army is not an easy task. There is also an Army Training Command (ARTRAC) at Shimla, whose main aim is to maximize the effectiveness of the training of personnel.

ज्वाइन इंडियन आर्मी now to server the nation.